Distraction Alerts help tutors keep an eye on student engagement during online sessions. When a participant becomes inactive in Pencil Spaces, such as by switching to another browser tab or application, hosts can receive a notification so they can decide whether to check in.
Note: Distraction Alerts are enabled automatically, so youâll receive these notifications when you sign up for Pencil Spaces unless you turn them off.
How do I enable or disable Distraction Alerts?
You can manage Distraction Alerts from the AI Assist section of your Pencil Spaces settings.
From your Pencil Spaces dashboard, open Settings.
Select AI Assist under the Institution section.
In the In Session section, find the Distraction Alerts setting. From here, you can toggle Enable distraction notifications.
Once toggled, your setting will be applied to future sessions!
Note: To reduce notification noise in larger sessions, Distraction Alerts are hidden when there are 5 or more participants in the Space.
How do Distraction Alerts work?
When a participant is no longer actively viewing Pencil Spaces, such as when they switch to another browser tab or application, the host will receive a notification.
From the notification, hosts can:
A Distraction Alert indicates that a participant is no longer actively viewing Pencil Spaces. It doesn't indicate what the participant is doing in another tab or application.
Need more help?
If youâre having trouble with your Distraction Alerts or have questions about how they work, please contact our Pencil Spaces Support team. Weâre available 24/7 and will be happy to help.
For more details on how to access our live support team, see our guide: How to access 24/7 live support.






